Mental health staff from Sussex and Hampshire celebrated at annual awards @withoutstigma

Outstanding NHS staff, volunteers and carers who provide mental health and learning disability care for thousands of adults and children across Sussex and Hampshire have been recognised for their work at an awards event celebrating their positive practice. 

Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust’s annual Positive Practice Awards 2018 shone a well-deserved spotlight on its nurses, doctors, occupational therapists, allied health professionals, support staff, service users, their family and carers, volunteers and the partner organisations it works with.

This year the awards recognised more than 11 individuals and team winners who have all gone above and beyond in providing first class services and care for the people they serve.

Held at the Brighton Metropole on Friday, November 9, the ceremony was attended by more than 500 people – including staff, partner organisations, and members of the Trust’s Council of Governors. It was hosted by the Trust’s Chief Medical Officer Dr Rick Fraser, and Diane Hull, Chief Nurse.

Sam Allen, Chief Executive of Sussex Partnership, said: “Every single day our staff go above and beyond to provide outstanding care for the people we serve. These are challenging times for all of the NHS – and mental health services particularly – with a level of demand we have never known before. That’s why events like our Positive Practice Awards are so important. They give us a chance to celebrate all the good that is happening day in and day out across NHS mental health and learning disability services across Sussex and Hampshire.

“It really was a night to remember, with more than 600 nominations for awards, 500 staff and 11 awards.

“I felt truly humbled – as I always do when I’m out and about across the Trust meeting our dedicated staff, people who use our services, their families, carers and the partner organisations we work with.

“We are fortunate to have such talented and committed people working at and with Sussex Partnership and in the NHS. I also want to say a special thank you to everyone who couldn’t make the event because of being on duty within clinical services and other reasons.”

All of the Positive Practice awards are around valuing, appreciating and respecting each other, drawing on one of the Trust’s key values; everyone counts. Nominations are made by the Trust’s 5,000-strong workforce, as well as members of the public, service users, carers and family members. Winners on the night were recognised for their contributions to improving patient care across every service.

As part of the evening a special Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Sussex Partnership nurse Aileen Coomber – the oldest working nurse in the NHS. At 81 years old, Aileen has dedicated more than 65 years to the NHS and currently works at Shepherd House in Worthing. She was a key part of the national 70th NHS birthday celebrations this year, leading celebrations in Westminster Abbey on July 5.

Aileen was given the special Lifetime Achievement Award by Sussex Partnership Chair, Peter Molyneux.

The winners of the Positive Practice Awards 2018 were:

Inspired to Improve – awarded to an individual or team who has improved their service, listened and responded positively to feedback

  • Bronze: Brighton & Hove Group Treatment Service
  • Silver: James Atkinson
  • Gold: Lucy Westcott and Team Springwell

Research and teaching – awarded for research and / or teaching activity that demonstrates a clear improvement in quality of care and improved patient outcomes.

  • Bronze: Kate Stammers & Mandy Burton
  • Silver: Nurse Education Team
  • Gold: Professor Kathy Greenwood

Quality and innovation – award that recognises an individual or team who has put a good idea into action by thinking differently. Either directly improving patient care or supporting our staff to deliver high quality services

  • Bronze: Sex Offender Treatment Service Collaborative – Intellectual Disability Team
  • Silver: Sharon Fernando and Steve Lockhart for Ambulance Street Triage Service
  • Gold: Nikki Jones and team for (Prevention and Management of Violence and Aggression)

Partnership in practice – awarded to an individual team who works effectively in partnership with others, crossing professional, clinical or organisational boundaries

  • Bronze: Hampshire i2i
  • Silver: Veterans service
  • Gold: Pathfinder

The Bethan Smith Award – This is a special award in memory of Bethan Smith. It is judged by the Executive team – along with Bethan’s parents, Aldyth and David – and awarded to an individual or team who has demonstrated compassion, kindness and supportiveness in working with families.

  • Winner: Heathfield Ward, Department of Psychiatry

Heads On Heroes – This award recognises staff who have made a positive difference to patient care through fundraising for the Trust charity Heads On. Nominations can be for individuals or teams who have gone above and beyond their usual role to improve patient care through fundraising. It’s not about who has raised the most money, but about who has shown real commitment and passion to improving the experience of service users by engaging in fundraising with Heads On.

  • Bronze: Jade Ward, Langley Green Hospital
  • Silver: Laura Stapleton
  • Gold: Ian Puttock

Team award (non-clinical) – award that recognises non clinical teams which have made an outstanding contribution going ‘the extra mile’

  • Bronze: Nurse Education Team
  • Silver: Clinical Care Intelligence Team
  • Gold: Carer Heroes

Team award (clinical) – award that recognises clinical teams which have made an outstanding contribution going ‘the extra mile’

  • Bronze: Specialist Perinatal Mental Health Team
  • Silver: Shepherd House, Worthing
  • Gold: Woodlands Team

Shining Star (Clinical) – awarded to an individual working for Sussex Partnership who makes a difference every day.

  • Bronze: Dr Jane McNulty
  • Silver: Jarod Newbury
  • Gold: Laury Jeanneret

Shining Star (Non-Clinical) – awarded to an individual working for Sussex Partnership who makes a difference every day.

  • Bronze: Raymond Pothin
  • Silver: Graham Johnston
  • Gold: Timothy Alksaris

Outstanding student nurse mentor –  awarded in recognition of the significant contribution that mentors make to the education and training of student nurses.

  • Bronze: Sophie Bartlett
  • Silver: Kerry Stott
  • Gold: Steve Barry